Functional Skills System

For individuals who have special learning challenges such as cognitive disabilities, lower-level reading comprehension, etc.

Independent Living Skills

The Functional Skills System is a robust video modeling system that shows and teaches users to become increasingly independent. Sometimes a task that appears basic to one person can be challenging for others. The Functional Skills System provides clear, straight-forward information on a wide-range of everyday life topics to help individuals with learning challenges to function independently in their homes, schools, communities, and workplaces.

How does it work?

First, a user is assigned skill building units to work on by their administrators (the staff member who is in charge of the user).

Skill Building Unit categories

  • Health Skills

  • Life Skills

  • Literacy Skills

  • Math Skills

  • Safety Skills

  • Social Skills

  • Transportation Skills

  • Work Skills

Second, the user begins a unit which includes short instructional videos using video-modeling with real people (not cartoons or animation) to teach the user a concept.

Each unit is is associated with a Skill Level and there are 3 different levels in the Functional Skills System. Below is an example of each:

Level 1: Signs and Words Series (SWS)
This basic level teaches what various signs and words mean and what one should do when seeing a sign or word.

Level 2: How to Series (HTS)
This intermediate level teaches how to do various activities. Activities are broken down into smaller tasks to teach the user each task and the proper order to perform the tasks.

Level 3: Learning Activity Series (LAS)
This advanced level takes our How to Series (HTS) to the next level. LAS units are targeted towards higher-functioning life skills learners.

Third, the user is assessed on their understanding of the concept and Conover Online provides reports that measures how the user performed.

Sample Report